Vive La Revolution

Swartland Revolution_PosterFA

I have packed my bags and am counting the hours till I shove off from work early to take a leisurely drive to Riebeek Kasteel. Mischief may be had, wines will be drunk, and I am not sure were I’ll end up sleeping.

The Swartland Revolution is going to be a cracker of a weekend because there is a wonderful aura of cheerfulness that comes from everyone involved. The guys/girls from the Swartland smile, they joke, they make silly posters, they love wine and make it brilliantly. They don’t just make wine, they make it with style. Which reminded me of this quote from Tom Robbins:

It is content, or rather the consciousness of content, that fills the void. But the mere presence of content is not enough. It is style that gives content the capacity to absorb us, to move us; it is style that makes us care.

So while the verbose bilious bow tie wearing critics argue about the quality of the wine, who discovered them, and who has got what interest and does it conflict; while they moan and groan, bitch and snipe, I’ll be having a party. And by god I’ll be having it in style.

Over the next two days I will be finding out with video, stills, voice recordings and the written word why this lot are revolting. I shall drink, eat, and smoke my to an answer which shall be dutifully reported to you next week.

As I sit here wistfully waiting for the time for me to leave, my imagination cranks into third gear and I wonder whether we’ll end up with one of these for people who 429px-Cruikshank_-_The_Radical's_Armscontinue to make sweet, over the top oak monsters?  If we will end up storming the offices of Distell and stringing up those bribing restaurants to have boring wine lists. I doubt it, but it would be fun.

So if you want to find me this weekend head for Riebeek Kasteel and look for the thick of it.

If you don’t have the time or the money to come for the whole event, I seriously recommend the Real Men Ferment Wild tasting on Saturday. It’s only 50 bucks.

LibertyEqualityorDeath

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Drunk, Exploring, Opinion, Rants, and Stories, Visited
3 comments on “Vive La Revolution
  1. Chris Mullineux says:

    Harry mate, thanks for joining our Revolution this weekend. You were an integral part of the atmosphere and vibe, and I look forward to finding out why most people thought we were Revolt-ing!

    We look forward to seeing you out on this side of the Boerewors Curtain again soon.

    Chris, Andrea and the rest of the (Revolt-ed) Swartlanders.

  2. Alex Starey says:

    Hey Harry. it was a cool experience meeting you at the Revolution. Come and visit us at Keermont sometime. Alex

  3. Hi Alex and Chris,

    Yeah, it was a great weekend, I’ll be posting my report back sometime today, now that I have recovered fully and am able to use basic motor skills again.

    The video will also be along soon after ‘explaining’ why the Swartland is revolting.

    Easily one of the best weekends I’ve had this year.

    Chris, Andrea and the rest, you kicked ass. Good work.

    Alex, next time I’m in the area I’ll definitely pop in.

    H

Leave a Reply

